Ms. Angela Monique's Blog

A Chronicle of My Activities and Thoughts…

This Weeks’ Planned Meal

Good day brothers and sisters.

The majority of you are not aware of the health problems that I have been battling since my recent return home. Unfortunately I have been very ill but the good news is that I have a great friend that is into natural foods and holistic healing. My friend Pamela has truly taught me and opened my eyes on quite a few things.  For example:

1) The majority of the foods that we eat are genetically modified foods (GMO’s). There is a lot of information out there regarding these “foods” that are political, but the truth of the matter is that GMO’s are not healthy and rather harmful to our bodies. WHAT?!?!?!? By way of illustration, in order for a soybean crop to combat the herbacides that are being sprayed amongst them to kill the weeds, the soybean crop has been replaced with genetically modified soybeans that can survive the poisons. WHAT?!?!?!?!? In other words, instead of eating the soybean that has been poisoned with herbacides, you are now eating a soybean imposter. Brothers and sisters, we are not talking about name brand vs. knock-off, we are talking about soybean vs. soybean derivative or a fake soybean. You still don’t understand? Did you know that there is a 80% chance of the food that you are eating this very second is a genetically modified organism? You don’t believe me? Please view this movie on Monsanto {it will give you a clear understanding of the problem of GMO’s}

2) We should eat to live, not live to eat. I already knew of this principle, but due to the ongoing issues with my health, I intend to apply this principle.

In keeping with the aforementioned principles and concepts, I intend to eat the following items. With this being a complete change in diet, I will need a ton of encouragement, new recipes {that include only organic and non-GMO foods}, and constructive suggestions from you.

Here we go:

Breakfasts: Egg whites and rice with a berry smoothie {strawberry, blueberry, and raspberry} / steel-cut oatmeal with berries

Lunches and Dinners: Broccoli / salmon / tuna / trout / cauliflower / turkey / kale / organic hummus / cabbage

Snacks: strawberries, blueberries, & raspberries / 3 servings of yogurt per day / peanuts / almonds / papaya / mango / unsalted sunflower seeds

*************************************************************************************

P.S., I am going to try this one on Wednesday – Zucchini Pasta with Puttanesca

Ingredients

 Raw Puttanesca Sauce

  • 4 ripe tomatoes, quartered
  • 6 sundried tomatoes, soaked in water to cover for 30 minutes
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/3 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 can black ripe olives, sliced
  • 1/2 cup capers
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • sea salt to taste
 Pasta
  • 1 large zucchini
  • grape tomatoes (halved)
 Garnish
  • Baby spinach
  • Basil leaves
  • Pine nuts

 

Directions

  1. Drain sundried tomatoes.
  2. Place all ingredients except for the olives and capers in the food processor and pulse, leaving the sauce still slightly chunky.
  3. Remove, place into a bowl and stir in olives and capers.
  4. Check flavor and add sea salt to taste.
  5. Spiralize zucchini in a spiral vegetable slicer or julienne by hand or with a mandolin. Toss with halved grape tomatoes.
  6. Mix with desired quantity of Raw Puttanesca Sauce.
  7. Layer on a bed of baby spinach, and top with tiny basil leaves and pine nuts.
About msangelamonique

Let's see... What is about me that makes me different from you? 1) My name is Angela Monique 2) I am a Nomad by nature, so even though I am currently in San Antonio, I will be moving on very soon :-) 3) My favorite musical genre is Reggae followed by the Blues 4) My favorite TV series are: Law and Order SVU, Living Single, The Real Housewives, Girlfriends, and The Golden Girls 5) I have 2 fantastic doggies What to know more? Then just ask :-)

One comment on “This Weeks’ Planned Meal

  1. Gloria Steger
    June 22, 2014

    For those of you who do not know by now, my beautiful daughter, Angela Monique, went home to be with The Lord on May 27, 2014. Thank you so much for faithfully following her Blog. We miss her dearly.

    Angela’s Mom

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2014 by in Health and tagged , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Tweets :-)

Archives

